Chris' Corner: 2012 ecoENERGY award winners SNEAK PREVIEW!!

2012 ecoENERGY award winners SNEAK PREVIEW!!

2012 ecoENERGY award winners SNEAK PREVIEW!!

Natural Resources Canada will announce the 2012 ecoENERGY winners at the Canadian International AutoShow coming soon to Toronto, but word has leaked out!

Highlights include:

Honda CR-Z (two-seater co-winner)

Chevrolet VOLT (compact winner)

Nissan LEAF (mid-size winner)

Hyundai SONATA (full-size winner)

Toyota PRIUS V (station wagon winner)

Ford ESCAPE HYBRID (special purpose vehicle winner)

Mazda 5 (minivan winner)

For a link to the complete article from autoblog.ca, click here

Chris Smith CSSBB
          Sales Representative

Interested in Buying or Selling Real Estate?

  ph: 1.866.936.3500

Re/Max
Chay Realty Inc.,
Brokerage

Comment balloon 14 commentsChris Smith • February 14 2012 06:02PM

Comments

Hi Chris - Some great winners this year.  Hybrid and battery operated vehicles are starting to become more popular.

Posted by FN LN over 8 years ago

Good evening, Chris. I have a Prius with over 125K miles on it. When I purchased mine, it was the only one in town. Now I see them everywhere...

Posted by TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.) over 8 years ago

Chris: Thanks for sharing this very interesting review. A nice variety to choose from.

Posted by Carl Winters over 8 years ago

Congratulations to all the 'green' vehicle winners Chris!  We booted around on vacation in a Prius and was a hoot!  Ahhh, the Toronto Auto show, brings back more memories Chris LOL, not even the biggest snow storm held us back remember ?!

Posted by Al & Peggy Cunningham, Brokers, Our Family Wants To Help Your Family! (RE/MAX West Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Marc, The VOLT sure is sexy, but the Optima/Sonata, seems to be good value.  It all depends on your needs. The Prius V is interesting to me also.

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Michael, it doesn't surprise me to see you ahead of the curve!

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Carl and Ceil, when it comes time for a new car, might as well choose one eco-friendly!

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

I remember that AutoShow with you both, Laura and Marc fondly.  We did have a blast driving all the way to downtown Toronto, considering the weather conditions were too bad to work ;-)

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Thank you, Chris, very interesting information. We have Mercedes - diesel. Love it. I am going to be sure, I won't miss AutoShow in Miami.

Posted by Valeria Mola, 305-607-0709 SIB Realty Condos for Sale and Rent (SIB Realty - Miami, Sunny Isles Beach) over 8 years ago

Hybrid cars are becoming more and more popular, which is a huge step in the right direction Chris, but I'm really looking forward to owning a viable fully electric car that I can use every day for all my needs. I don't think we are too far away.

Posted by Malcolm Johnston, Trenton Real Estate (Century 21 Lanthorn Real Estate LTD., Trenton, Ontario) over 8 years ago

Chris, Nothing like high mileage today! Thanks for the info and have a nice day!

Posted by Keith Gilkey, 410-920-7214, Re/Max Chesapeake (Re/Max Chesapeake) over 8 years ago

Valeria, I drive a Passat Diesel.  I think they are overlooked in North America, but can be a "green alternative", especially with the low sulphur and biodiesel fuels now.

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Malcolm, the Volt looks so good, but is still impractical for me, the Sonata hybrid or the Prius V might work.  I do agree, however, that we are not far away from the electric car.

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Keith, gas will not come down in price, not in the long haul...

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 8 years ago

Participate